Non-trading vessel categories

On the marine pest website, the term 'non-trading vessels', refers to the following vessel classes:


  • barges and dredges
  • cable ships
  • heavy lift vessels
  • lighters (including oil recovery vessels)
  • research vessels
  • super yachts
  • tall ships
  • trailered vessels

Government vessels (owned, contracted or chartered)

  • customs launches
  • defence vessels
  • harbour and inshore patrol vessels including fisheries vessels, marine administration vessels, marine safety vessels, national/marine parks vessels, water police vessels, coast patrol vessels

Transport service vessels

  • charter boats
  • pilot boats
  • ferries
  • tugs and line handling boats
  • water taxis

For information on cruise vessels, refer to the Commercial vessels pages.

For information on offshore support vessels and pipelay vessels, refer to the Petroleum industry pages.